Happy 2014!!!!

Happy New Year!!!!  I can still say that, right?!  *shrugs* Who cares.  What a whirlwind the last several months have been.  I’m truly amazed at the grace that God has shown us, the friendships that He has blessed us with and the struggles we have come through. I’ve gone through so much in the last 5 months, it’s unREAL.  (yes that looks like a typo, but I meant to put “REAL” in caps). 

As you know, (or maybe not) my sweet Hubs was laid off 3 or 4 days after his 40th birthday.  Talk about a SLAP in the face.  So all SUMMER (SMH) we went with one income plus unemployment.  Fun.  On paper, it shouldn’t have worked, but….it worked.  We had enough to sustain us.  No joke.  It’s crazy how it all worked itself out.  I remember going to the grocery store one of the times and I had it budgeted to a T.  It was right on budget and for some reason, we were $50 UNDER.  Just one of the many blessings that God showed us during our season of one income.

So fast forward to Nov 2013.  Hubs landed a job.  His job started Jan 6th 2014.  We found a house and got it at the price we wanted to pay and we’re in the area we wanted to live in Jan 2014.  We can’t believe we started the year off with Hubs finding a job and us finding and closing on a home. August 2013 – November 2013 was a tremendous learning season for us.  We learned a LOT about ourselves and our marriage.  Would I do it again. Yes.  Only next time, I hope to be better prepared.  🙂  Marriage is such a blessing.  Marriage is also a gift.  Marriage is partnership.  Marriage is H-A-R-D.  Especially when you’re going through your valley period.  Peaks and Valleys.  Times and Seasons.  I’m definitely ready for a “peak” season.  But I’ve got my big girl britches on just in case there is another “challenge” around the corner.  I said that in the last post.  And I meant it. 

 

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Happy 2014!!!!

Thank you for your comment!

