Sweet Surprise

My mom just recently surprised me with a “love-package” that contained everything I needed to make her beloved chocolate espresso cheesecake.  She even included a neatly typed recipe.  I cried.  It was the best, most thoughtful gift I had ever received.  Ever.  Spring foam pans, brown sugar, vanilla, bakers chocolate….I couldn’t believe my eyes.  Her letter was just as sweet.  As I dug through the box, I noticed another recipe.  She also sent me her  pinwheel recipe that she would make all the time.  So awesome.

So tonight I attempted to make the cheesecake.  Baking intimidates the crap out of me.  I have to follow the rules and I have to go in order or it’s a hot mess.  My Hubs loves chocolate chip cookies and I made them twice from scratch.  First time was beginners luck.  Second time, a molten chocolate puddle of poo.  How was I supposed to know that you can’t just dump everything in one bowl all at the same time?! *Shrugs* Moving on….

This recipe is near and dear and I won’t be posting the recipe.  It’s my momma’s and I’d like to keep it a secret.  I just wanted to share the story of the recipe and how much it means to me.  Here’s the almost finished cheesecake!  It’s cooling nicely and after that it’ll go in the fridge for overnight chilling.  tomorrow (or prob Tuesday) I’ll need to make the chocolate drizzle that goes on top.  That alone needs an hour to chill in the fridge!  Smells yummy!

Thank you for your comment!

