Food…Glourious FOOOOODD!! **Cue dance music for a broadway musical**

So…I’ve been stuck in the house for the last two days with a sore back.  (Boo!)  See what happens when you fall off the work-out wagon.  Muscles start fallin’ out on ya.So anyway…I’ve been MIA in the kitchen these last two days….until today!  Inspired by a Crock Potrecipe, I totally made major changes and made it my own. Original recipe called for ground beef.  I made mine w/ 99% fat free All white turkey meat.  So here we go! (Warning: It’s nothing fancy and I’m sure there are better recipes…)Meyer’s TURKEY Meatball and Spaghetti SauceMeatballs
2 lbs 99% Fat Free ground turkey meat
1 Cup of crushed whole grain crackers (I actually didn’t measure 1 cup…i just crushed crackers until I figured it was a cup) 
1/2 Onion Chopped
3 egg whites beaten
1/2 flat-leaf parsley
Garlic (use as much or as little as you want) minced
Dash sea salt and black pepper to taste
2 tablespoons olive oilSpaghetti Sauce
2 cans  (28 oz each) tomato sauce (regular all natural)
Chopped FRESH Basil (important for flavor!) use 1 cup or 1 1/2 cup
1/4 olive oil
4 garlic cloves, or to taste, minced
Italian seasoning, oregano, and thyme to taste.  (I don’t do measurements on seasonings mostly)
     Salt and pepper to taste
     Hot cooked whole wheat spaghetti

Combine all meatball ingredients except oil.  Shape into balls and refrigerate for 20-30 min.

Lean white turkey meat is better!

Combineall sauce ingredients in a Crock-Pot slow cooker and set aside.  (No pic…sorry)
Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Working in batches, (don’t drop them like I did …heheh) brown the turkey balls on all sides.  Transfer to Crock-Pot w/o dropping on the floor with the sauce. 

Smells good…..

Cook on Low for 3-5 hours(depending on your pot) or on high for 2-4 hours.  Serve over already cooked whole wheat spaghetti.  Yuumy!  Tip:  Add chopped portobello mushrooms after adding the meatballs! 
UPDATE:  Mine took only 2 hours to cook on low due to the lean turkey meat.

Hope you like.  I know I need to get better about blogging about my food, and I promise I will!  🙂

What else can I make?!

Thank you for your comment!

